Dunsborough triumph

Chloe FraserBusselton Dunsborough Times

Dunsborough were crowned champions in the Busselton-Margaret River Cricket Association’s inaugural T20 competition, defeating YOBS in the A and B-grade grand finals at Barnard Park on Saturday.

B-grade were first cab off the rank, with Dunsborough winning the toss and batting first.

YOBS’ Ky Spowart led the charge early with two wickets, but Chris Dudley and captain Ian Purcell put Dunsborough in a great position with a partnership of 79 in a total of 4-128.

Purcel made 36, while Dudley finished unbeaten on 46.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Simon Godridge and Ethan Piggott kept hopes alive for YOBS.

Pigott belted 82 not out and Godridge made a useful 20.

It all came down to Pete Morris’ bowling.

He took a vital wicket and YOBS were left at 3-115, just 13 runs short of victory.

In the A-grade match, YOBS’ Ben Clarke hit 26, Troyden Thorp hit 19 and Haig Colombera contributed 30 runs from 22 balls as YOBS were dismissed for 101.

Dunsborough bowlers Josh Reagan, Mark Natale, Lachlan Milton and Nathan Whitney each took two wickets.

Reagan also made 39 for his side in a closely contested match in which Dunsborough took the honours, making 8-102 for the loss of two wickets.

Dunsborough claimed victory in the B-grade T20 grand final at Barnard Oval on Saturday.
Camera IconDunsborough claimed victory in the B-grade T20 grand final at Barnard Oval on Saturday. Credit: Vanessa Holmes-Hatton

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails