Hedland crowned North West champions after winning a thrilling final

Alexander ScottPilbara News
Hedland Red were crowned NW champs
Camera IconHedland Red were crowned NW champs Credit: Supplied/Captured by Khalis/Captured by Khalis

Teams from Geraldton to Port Hedland descended on the Pilbara to battle it out to see who would be crowned the touch football champions of the North West.

Five towns competed at the North West Touch Carnival hosted by the Hedland Touch Association on June 5 at Kevin Scott Oval.

Hedland and Karratha both submitted three teams, while Exmouth, Geraldton, and a combined Tom Price/Paraburdoo made up the rest of the competition.

Hedland and Karratha proved a level above the rest, with two sides from each town making it through to the semifinals.

Hedland Reds downed Hedland White 6-2 to advance to the final. Karratha Gold defeated the Karratha Blue team 8-5 to make it to the final dance.

It was an action-packed grand final with the Hedland Red side showing off the attacking strength running away with the victory in dominant fashion 9-3.

Hedland Red’s Richard Wuruki and Stacey Smith were crowned the MVPs of the finals.

Other awards were handed out for the weekend including the Spirit of the North-West which went to Michael Brooks.

The male top try scorers awards went to Tom Price’s Damon Enosa and Hedland Whites’ Ben Newie-Mene while the female prize went to Geraldton’s Lauren Norris.

The weekend also saw the top players named as part of the all-star team with the players voting on the members after each game.

The team featured Karratha’s John Chambers and Kai Kirkwood, Hedland’s Jasmine Kilmartin as well as Norris and Exmouth’s Chynna Cahill and Cam Barton.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails